Another section of the Alabama Code provides for bicycle safety. That section is 32-5A-280 through 32-5A-286. The title of this section is the Brad Hudson-Alabama Bicycle Safety Act of 1995.
Under these laws, no person under 16 years of age may ride on a bicycle, even as a passenger, without wearing an approved protective bicycle helmet. Additionally, any person on a bicycle who weighs less than 40 pounds or is less than 40 inches tall must be in a separate restraining seat. If a parent of a child under the age of 16 years knowingly allows the child to operate or be a passenger on a bicycle without a helmet or without the proper restraining seat, that parent will be considered in violation of the code and subject to its penalties.
The rules above are set forth by the State of Alabama. Any city or town may establish a more comprehensive bicycle safety program than these rules. For example, in Homewood, Alabama, it is unlawful for any person, regardless of age, to ride a bicycle without a helmet upon a public roadway.
In our next part to this series, we will discuss the rules regarding the rental of bicycles.